PENNSYLVANIA CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE
Frequently Asked Questions
Your license to carry firearms is valid
for 5 years.
How do I renew my
license to carry firearms?
Within 30-60 days of the expiration of
your license to carry firearms, a Renewal Package will be mailed to your
home address. Enclosed in this package will be all
the information needed to renew your
license to carry firearms. It is imperative that you keep your
address current so that you may receive the renewal package.
How do I change my address on my license to carry firearms?
You must contact the Elk County Sheriff's
Office with a valid Pennsylvania Driver's License or Pennsylvania
Identification Card with your correct address. We will then change the
address on your license to carry firearms and will report said change to
the Pennsylvania State Police.
Is there fee for changing my address on my license to carry firearms?
There is a $5.00 fee if you would like to
receive a duplicate permit with the corrected address. However, you are
not required to get a new card. You can simply notify our office
of your new address and carry as long as your driver's license is
correct you are legal.
What should I do if I
lose my license to carry firearms?
You must personally appear at the
Sheriff’s Office with proof of identity and we will issue you a
duplicate permit at a fee of $5.00.
Are there any other states that will honor the Pennsylvania License to
For an up-to-date list of states which
will honor your PA permit refer to the following link.
Is my Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms valid in Allegheny and
Yes, your license is valid for the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania including Allegheny but NOT Philadelphia
What should I do if I am stopped by a law enforcement officer while
carrying a firearm with my Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms?
Immediately tell the officer that you are
carrying a firearm and that you are licensed to do so while your
hands are visible to the officer. Follow the officer's instructions
completely. For safety reasons, the officer may secure your weapon while
they verify your license to carry firearms.
If I’m spotlighting does my firearms license permit me to carry my
Yes, if you have the LTC permit.
If I posses a valid License to Carry a Firearm, am I required to undergo
a Pennsylvania Instant Check System (PICS) background check to purchase
Yes, Section 6111 of the Uniform Firearms
Act requires that a dealer complete a PICS Check before delivering a
firearm to a buyer. This replaced the 5-day waiting period.
What if I own a firearm and I am convicted of a crime that prohibits me
from possessing firearms?
You have 60 days from the date of
conviction to sell or transfer any firearms you own to a person who is
not a member of your household.
Do I need a License
to possess a firearm?
No license is required to possess rifles,
shotguns, or handguns in one’s home or place of business. No license is
required when engaged in target shooting or while going to or from
shooters’ place of assembly or target practice, provided the firearm is
unloaded and the ammunition is carried in a separate container. No
license is required to carry an unloaded and securely wrapped firearm
from the place of purchase to one’s home or place of business, to or
from a place of repair, or in moving from one place of abode or business
to another, or from one’s home to a vacation or recreational home or
dwelling or back. to recover stolen property,
or to a location to which the person has
been directed to surrender firearms or back upon return of the
I have a license to carry a firearm. Are there places I cannot carry one
even though I have the license?
Yes, it is unlawful to possess any firearm
in any court facility, or within the building containing a court
facility, federal office buildings, post offices, schools and school
property. Keep in mind, if any private property is posted, you may
not carry at these locations.
What do I need to do if I want to sell or transfer a firearm to a
You must have a licensed firearm dealer
process the transaction. There will be a Pennsylvania Instant Check
System (PICS) background check done on the intended recipient of the
firearm. There will be a fee assessed for this.
If I have a criminal record from many years ago and I have not committed
a prohibited offense since then, is it possible that I may be able to
purchase a firearm?
The current Uniform Firearms Act does not
exempt criminal records from a specific time period in order to acquire
a firearm. Also, criminal records are not automatically expunged
(deleted) after a period of time. In Pennsylvania a court order is
required to expunge non-conviction information. Conviction information
may not be expunged. It is possible to obtain court ordered relief from
a firearm disability, which may grant eligibility to acquire a firearm.
I allow persons under the age of 18 to use a handgun?
Persons under the age of 18 (minors) may
only possess or transport a handgun under the following circumstances:
They are under the supervision of a
parent, grandparent, legal guardian, or an adult acting with the
expressed consent of the minor’s custodial parent or legal guardian, and
the minor is engaged in lawful activity including safety training,
lawful target shooting, engaging in an organized competition involving
the use of a firearm, or the firearm is unloaded and the minor is
transporting it for a lawful purpose.
They are lawfully hunting or
trapping in accordance with the game laws.